HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: BuzzFeedVideo

Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

122514 ratings | 3903824 views
What does a real psychologist think of how mental illness is portrayed in movies? Dr. Ali Mattu, clinical psychologist at the Columbia University Medical Center, takes a look at how mental illness is depicted in pop culture and tells us how accurate they really are. Credits: https://www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/68415 Special thanks to Dr. Ali Mattu! https://youtube.com/thepsychshow Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo! https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1 https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet GET MORE BUZZFEED: https://www.buzzfeed.com https://www.buzzfeed.com/videos https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedvideo https://www.youtube.com/asis https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedblue https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedviolet https://www.youtube.com/perolike https://www.youtube.com/ladylike BuzzFeedVideo BuzzFeed’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily! To see behind-the-scenes & more, follow us on Instagram @buzzfeedvideo http://bit.ly/2JRRkKU Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: https://goo.gl/gQKF8m
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (6140)
Michelle M (6 hours ago)
After watching this, I am excited to start my clin psych training. Gah I wanna be like him when I finish.
Paul Roussell (8 hours ago)
Is it just me or does this guy kind of sound like Jeff Kaplan? (The game director of overwatch)
You Doubt Me ? (8 hours ago)
I thought I saw a resemblance of jeff Kaplan on his face feature
Victor S (15 hours ago)
American Psycho
elyne__ xx (1 day ago)
honestly, I haven't seen 'Split' but it made people, who isn't aware of what's actually a DID, made them think and believe people who has DID is a murderer or that they have an alter who's a killer or some sort and that ain't IT.
Owen Cross (1 day ago)
Why is he talking like a valley girl?
Diego (1 day ago)
can he review the buzzfeed writers?
Sasha V (1 day ago)
What if my pet reacts to someting that is not there? Do they have hullucinations ? Jk amimals can sense energy and paranormal things we dont
D.J. Taylor (1 day ago)
Should have had him watch Nightcrawler.
Ugh Not You (1 day ago)
I don't understand people who deny the existence of mental health (aka my parents)
Luca Grioni (1 day ago)
As soon as He said Iron Man 3 is one of his favourite Marvel movies I understood His opinion is close to worthless on movie topics.
Joseph Gambrell (2 days ago)
Mr robot is just the best
Enigma (2 days ago)
I think i have bipolar.
Marijo (2 days ago)
I’m a psychology student and one of my professors said that D.I.D is very controversial ‘cause some professionals don’t even consider it as a diagnosis, because mental illnesses are usually the consequences of an undeveloped personality, so it makes no sense that a person would have different personalities all combined into one. I don’t know what to believe regarding DID though, I’m just saying what my professor said.
Kaley Spurgin (14 hours ago)
You should Dissociadid on here, it's a really interesting channel the girl talks about her DID might help make up your mind
Kamela Bogle (2 days ago)
I’d love to see his take on the United States of Tara’s depiction of DID
Bea Rose (2 days ago)
This generation is weak
Lord Baktor (2 days ago)
I don't doubt his credentials but shouldn't it be a psychiatrist rather than a psychologist analyzing portrayals of actual mental illnesses?
suket domokos (2 days ago)
>I really like Marvel movies >Iron Man 3 is one of my favourites Opinion dismissed.
Helena Lopes (2 days ago)
Hannibal isn't a psychopath. He's cold, but can relate. Just read the Hannibal book.
Ashley Johnson (3 days ago)
This doctor is hot af
Tenz (3 days ago)
I'm really concerned about my mental health right now. Anyone else? Anyone wanna talk about it with me? lol
Jason Isip (3 days ago)
wow!
Metal Kitten (3 days ago)
He should review mental illness in tv shows. United States of Tara, Shameless, etc. Shameless has a good representation of bipolar disorder. (Am bipolar type 2) Also...what about the movie it’s kind of a funny story?
Ellan Hicklin (3 days ago)
This was such an interesting video
Ava F (3 days ago)
The dark knight, girl interrupted, Dexter???
Jakob (3 days ago)
Oh my gaaaawd, I'm triggered....
Malaysia Pittman (4 days ago)
React to Dexter
Evan Kurniawan (4 days ago)
Real terrorist review terrorist in movies
marcy唯美 (4 days ago)
11:32 I'm surprised you didn't use Nightcrawler as an example for that part!! The whole movie is about a sociopath/psychopath gaming the corporate ladder system!
Tea :D (4 days ago)
let me just say iron man 3 represents mental health better than 13rw
Tea :D (4 days ago)
Bendover Cucomber is a great sherlock :)
The Fire King (2 days ago)
Spelled his name wrong. It's Benadryl Clusterfuck
Bill Smith (4 days ago)
I stopped watching after I heard the pseudo-scientific word "trigger."
Klep Tomanic (4 days ago)
Love the idea, not enough detail for me
Kay Elle Ah (5 days ago)
The only reason why I clicked this video was because I saw Sherlock.
XxDeadlyDragon1 (5 days ago)
Can we get a Jake Paul review.
shinarit (5 days ago)
The Wired does this thing a lot better.
Freeze Peach (5 days ago)
Excellent!
TheSanarossOne (5 days ago)
The media needs to make public their list of attractive people in the medical field because... This is ridiculous. I've never seen this much beauty in a psychiatrist.
Matze (6 days ago)
"Real Psychologist" good joke
R J (6 days ago)
It is so amazing and sometimes frightening what our minds can do. Sometimes it is very difficult to watch. Where the study of it is very interesting, consideration of the way that person must feel seems to be less represented. However, it could be that I've had a bad sampling of movies/exposure.
caprilo (6 days ago)
The only thing that I learned was that I can never watch movies with this guy
Peter Pan (6 days ago)
Sherlock might be autistic!
butters 99 (6 days ago)
I dont like how he buttoned up his shirt
James Wiggins (6 days ago)
I'm a therapist and Dissociative Identity Disorder is a total made up disorder.
Maker Bayfield (6 days ago)
shouldve done OCD from The Aviator with Leonardo DiCaprio
Landon Stott (6 days ago)
He's very very very wrong about the difference between sociopath and psychopath which is why the APA does not accept those terms anymore, but instead, APA accepts antisocial personality disorder. The key difference is the origin of where a sociopath comes from vs a psychopath. Genetic vs social cause.
Landon Stott (6 days ago)
it's kind of cool to understand schizo, one of the new things they are finding with it is that some don't actually hallucinate, but actually think they are seeing something. The delusion of one part of the brain sending the wrong signal, but not coming from the occipital lobe. Visversa, some people being diagnosed with schizo, when they really just have damage to that part of the brain.
Heather Marks (6 days ago)
Would Tate Langdon from season 1 of AHS be a physcopath?
Devon Garutti (6 days ago)
I already know the difference between sociopaths and psychopaths from Shane Dawson 😂
Dipper Pines (6 days ago)
Jake Paul?
Airith5 (6 days ago)
Only thing I'd like him to talk about is the difference between asocial, avoiding social situations, and antisocial, ignoring the rights and feelings of others, which is closer to sociopathy. Also sick sennheisers
Christian Justin (6 days ago)
Isnt beautiful mind a try story I think the guys still alive
Sylas viper (6 days ago)
Why even put ‘real’ in the title. I don’t think that’s necessary .
Mitchell Lerich (6 days ago)
I beg to differ on the bipolar one. I've seen manics escalate that quickly
Mr.FabulousPlays (6 days ago)
So... uh... every single one of the investigated cases of multiple personality disorders have been disproven. Every one has come out as originating from a psychologist suggesting it inadvertently and that’s it. It may have still been in the books when he was originally going through school but we don’t teach that as a legitimate thing anymore.
Wet Rain (6 days ago)
Psychopath > sociopath
az7500 (6 days ago)
Diagnosing movie characters does not do pop-Psychologists any favors. all the cases are false positives. So anyone can fake their way through mental illness, and the specialist will find something to diagnose?
Nicole Leah (6 days ago)
Pyschopaths are capable to be anything they want to be. They are cool and calculated. Inteligent and well educated. They can be a good Doctor, Politician a Scientist or even a good psychologist. Wait a sec..... Oh no...
XxSlayerKillzxX (7 days ago)
Ok now I know that I'm psychopathic and sociopathic because I'm pretty tempered and manipulative but I can bond with people though it does not happen that much thx for the information
XxSlayerKillzxX (7 days ago)
And I'm also a sadist
Pan-Wakka (7 days ago)
Wow, a buzzfeed video i didnt hate!
Legalize Ranch (7 days ago)
Not sure what a fake psychologist is
Spiffy Turtle (7 days ago)
None of my professionals have ever been able to agree on a diagnosis, so maybe DID, since it seems to change continually
Fattymicfatfat (7 days ago)
split was not a good movie to base mental illness on. not because its not a real thing, just because its based on a trilogy of super human. so every personalty wasn't actually a personality, it was just a different person and that is why 'the beast' had such powers, limbs grow out and can climb walls, cause it wasnt even a person, just some sort of beast inside a human.
ronj7677 (7 days ago)
I am Bi-Polar is very accurate when I'm manic. It's so hard to deal with and frustrating when people down play how hard it is to deal with.
Joseph Wang (7 days ago)
Real goat plays Goat Simulator.
Julie Rebecca (7 days ago)
they made my marvel heart hurt, right out of the gate
Corto Shorty (7 days ago)
Sherlock is the BEST
ankit tiwari (7 days ago)
Serial killer reviews serial killer movies
duellegend71 (7 days ago)
That baby thing was something I never wanted too see or even know about...
Aleksa Markovic (7 days ago)
Gather arounddd fellow quora psychopaths
Gaura Cappelletti (7 days ago)
I don't know, Sherlock seemed pretty impulsive to me
Aleksi Kailio (7 days ago)
There is a bruh sticker on the laptop
Egan Patterson (7 days ago)
So split is actually a superhero movie
Jennifer Smith (8 days ago)
I was really hoping he would watch girl interrupted
Please do one about atypical!! Or skam!
Daniela Costas (8 days ago)
YOU GUYS FORGOT ABOUT BPD!!!!
alfiegamemaker (7 days ago)
Your comment is good enough
Colin Hendricks (8 days ago)
I really wanted him to review Dexter :(((
Querent2000 (8 days ago)
Totally bogus expert. Waste of time.
Logan McLeod (8 days ago)
Jesus Christ this hack actually thinks Sherlock is an actual representation of sociopaths. That line is something an edgelord says when they want attention. Nobody with sociopathy brags about being a sociopath.
Logan McLeod (8 days ago)
Split is nowhere even close to an accurate portrayal. This video is garbage, and this just goes to show that anyone can become a psychiatrist, and psychiatrists do not know as much about the mind as they think they do.
Alicia (8 days ago)
lmao can buzzfeed just leave movies alone jfc- stick to your feminist content
Autumn Spurlin Vlogs (8 days ago)
Dang I thought it said a psychopath reviewed them and I was ready to wath
Soylent Latte (8 days ago)
I'm a pathological liar....no I'm not.
Rainbow Moon Readings (8 days ago)
I am furious to see the scene in beautiful mind with the baby. Put some fuckin trigger warnings on this video. I'm an empath, and that just made me so so sick and crying.
James White (8 days ago)
I have high cycle bipolar disorder, and I tell you, I love my manic episodes.
Kooleverest (8 days ago)
Why were the LGBT not shown?
Serial Margaret (8 days ago)
My brother has Schizophrenia. He has auditory hallucinations. He hears voices. He's named each voice. And I talk to them. I have conversations with his voices. It's pretty cool. And he's not violent.
Shelby Dawn (8 days ago)
Can you react to the korean drama, Kill me Heal me?
Anndrea Olsen (8 days ago)
You guys should do another one with Dexter in it!
Dion Powell (8 days ago)
He should do The Good Doctor
TheoBrixtonTheKid (8 days ago)
He was very nice in suggesting what we were all thinking.... that the M Night Shamalan movie was ass.
THOMAS DONALDSON (8 days ago)
Irishman 3?? As a reference... Psss this guy a joke
Jean Boda (8 days ago)
Man I really was hoping to see his thoughts on Borderline Personality Disorder:-/
Lil Bean (8 days ago)
Sherlock isn't autistic 😂
Wahasai 1 (8 days ago)
I've been in bipolar disorder. And for someone quite or not good at social activity like me, bipolar disorder feel like i have social power to control my emotion. Like if i want to be happy i will be smile and my happynes will be rise to limit. But if i sad and my sad will be rise to the limit or max and it can make me feel like my life is over.
Not Just JET (9 days ago)
Discount Taika Watiti?
draunt7 (9 days ago)
Psychopathy should be a life sentence in a max security cell. There's no way to cure it, and all forms of it are destructive in any occupation. Psychopaths on wall street are the reason wealth inequality is so rampant. Psychopaths in government are incapable of applying empathy to problems directly affecting people's lives. They just play the game of politics and waste taxpayer time, money, and health in order to seize the most power.
Amy Moore (9 days ago)
Loved it!!! Please more of them!
ArchieRok (9 days ago)
Wheres the trans people? they are really mental
Foorgut Mipants (9 days ago)
Good video although I don’t think Split is trying to prevent itself as realistic though.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.